BT bill - wow such big numbers!!

Options
Hi everyone.

First post here - so not sure if this will work!

Here goes: I have received my phone bill from BT - shock horror - it was much higher than I expected. They have increased my monthly DD from £40.00 to a massive £70.00. I have spent ages looking at the various review and threads on here but I am still not clearer as to a) how to change provider - will I lose service while the change happens?
b) which is the best provider in terms of service as well as cost.

Bill states - Charges of £28.07 for Option 1 and £68.91 for Option 3 and calls made £39.30.

I would be very grateful if anyone can help/advise. I am also trying to find a new BB provider but as I am a student and need the internet I am proceeding with caution.

thanks
Sally
November NSD 1/10
Weight loss - 7lbs from the 41 I need to loose = 34 to go

Comments

• Al_Mac
    Al_Mac Posts: 5,519 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Option 1 and Option 3:confused: Shouldn't you only have the 1?
  • headcovers
    Options
    I think you need to give us a bit more detail

I assume that the bill is itemised: what are the calls for or to. Are you making too many calls to mobile numbers, premium numbers, 0870 numbers, etc.

Secondly, one assumes from the two options that you have authorised BT to change you from one option to another option mid-term. If this is not the case you need to call BT to find out why they have changed you from one to the other.

Have you examined which option is best for you? Can you consider removing any extras like call waiting, caller display, etc?
  • headcovers
    Options
    I realise that your post asked about changing providers, but that may not be the answer if your call habits and call options are the root of the problem.
  • methekidsandthecat
    Options
    thanks for the help I will call BT tomorrow for clarification. I thought Option 3 was for BB but not sure now!