'1731, 2033, 9854' blog discussion

Replies

• phil-99 wrote: »
    am continually astonished by the number of people who enter their PIN in plain sight. Sometimes want to tell them - but how?

"Hi, I notice you enter your PIN in an unobstructed way which allows any passer-by, such as myself, to identify it. You should take preventative measures in the future such as covering your hand and placing your body between the pad and onlookers as best you can. This should help prevent strangers from finding out that your PIN is 3472. Don't worry, I've already debited from your account a nominal fee for my services. Happy to help."
  • I work in retail, and see this lack of PIN-secrecy regularly. Our shop is only a relatively small business that serves, on average, somewhere between 150 to 200 customers a week. However, I see an opportunity for card/PIN theft every single day.

The worst cases of this I see are in the huge number of customers that keep their PIN written down inside their wallet, usually behind or next to their card, and openly look inside to check it first. I have also had one customer ask for their card back out of the machine because she couldn't remember her PIN: it was written in Tipp-Ex on the card itself! This is most notable among the older generations - perhaps representative of a greater worry about forgetting the PIN. Unfortunately, this also makes them a greater target.

In this respect, it is also interesting the amount of trust put on the retailer: customers might often ensure that people behind are not watching but, in our shop at least, if they are the only person at the counter they will happily tap away in clear view of myself or other members of staff. I make a point of looking to one side whilst card payments are being made, but have also mentioned to several customers how dangerous it is to have their PIN so insecure.
  • IanOIanO Forumite
    18 Posts