DMP Mutual Support Thread (Part 5)

Options

Comments

• dsljfreeman
    Options
    Hey everyone,

I'm new to the DMP Support thread, my first payment to cccs is due 1st January, just glad to get it up and running. In an odd way we seem to have more now than we did before, I have the budget sheet stuck up on my fridge and once the wages come in they are being put into different envelopes or accounts for different things iykwim, like food shopping, petrol, school dinners, car tax etc, you get the gist.

Before my DMP we didnt seem to have enough money for shopping, it was all going on debt payments, now we have a nice healthy budget and I'm able to shop around more. Also having a budget for clothes is great, I clothes shopped over the weekend for the kids, spent about £60 and got absolutely loads which should last them til the summer, with the exception of underwear which I still need to buy.

I feel so liberated that after all these years in denial, that we are actually doing something about our debt while we are still young and our kids are young, so hopefully by the time they fully understand what debt is we will be excellent role models and they wont get into the stupid mess that we did. The best thing of all with a DMP is not being able to get anymore credit, just knowing that if we need something we either save for it or go without.

We still had a really good Christmas, we've only bought for the kids in our family for several years now so everyone knows what to expect, sometimes we may make things from the kids to the grandparents and they enjoy this more.

Hubby and I have thought of more ways to do things as a family which don't involve spending money and we are becoming closer as a result, we take a walk to the park, down the river, play board games, bake cakes, play football in the garden, have a movie night in.

Anyhoo, think I may have babbled on enough xx
    :j Bankrupt 6th October 2009 :j
    :beer: To a Debt-free Future :beer:
  • Toffee_Penny