Mental Health and Debt: Mental Health Workers & Others Feedback Needed

in Debt-Free Wannabe
101 replies 17.1K views

Replies

• I am a Community Mental Health Nurse and work for a NHS Trust.

I think debt is a major problem for a lot of people and especially people who have mental health problems as they often experience unemployment.

I think it is helpful to make sure you claim all benefits you are entitled to. The CAB can help with this and Mind employ benefit advice workers.

The job centre have Disability Employment Advisers who can help with advice on developing work skills and access to work.

A lot of people seem to be paying for payment protection insurance which doesn't pay out for mental health despite the fact they have a history of mental illness. This is costly and often useless.
    Started comping February 2012
    Wins so far:
    Mascara, dry shampoo, chocolates, Loreal Elvive goody bag.Pot noodle fork , maggi mix, couscous,