Mental Health and Debt: Mental Health Workers & Others Feedback Needed

in Debt-Free Wannabe
101 replies 17.1K views

Replies

• I'm a retired community psychiatric nurse and was interested to see this thread as I have become increasingly worried about what will happen to people with mental health problems getting caught up in the benefits changes. IE 'everyone can work or lose benefit' I wrote to our local paper about it, see below, but feel concerned about folk going into debt or ending up back in hospital and thus not saving the government money in the long run.

Dear Editor re Reform of the benefit system

And so the current government and now the Tories as well turn their attention to ‘sick note’ Britain having resolved the difficulties of Northern Ireland, Iraq and the National Health Service. While it is laudable to encourage people back into work I feel very concerned about the many individuals with serious Mental Health problems now being cared for in the Community, having previously been told that Hospital and inpatient care is not the best option. Community care is not a cheap alternative and the care and support given to Mental Health users is already delivered in a disjointed enough fashion without the threat of withdrawal or loss of benefits, which frequently allow people to be maintained in the Community.
  • AmesAmes Forumite
    18.5K Posts
    Couldn't agree more fishcake. I know that for a long time many mentally unwell people have been making plans for suicide if they get caught up in this and are told they have to work, it's been a big worry for a long time now.
    Unless I say otherwise 'you' means the general you not you specifically.