abbey have "expired" our overdraft..help!

Received a notice from abbey to say our £1500 overdraft will be "expired" on the 1/1/09! A very happy new year from them. we have had a lot of charges on the account as it's been a terrible year financially. I am a full time nursing student and my husband had to take a large pay cut at his new job. They are not offering us a reduced overdraft. have thought of switching but our credit rating is now probably awful. Any advice anyone?

Comments

• try get out of your overdraft as quick as possible is the only answer really or get a new bank account - i suppose you knew that anyway though.
  • cifpower
    cifpower Posts: 6,502 Forumite
    Open a back account elsewhere such as A&L. If you are unable to pay off your overdraft by the beginning of January it is imperative that you open a new account to prevent your money being gobbled up Abbey.
  • We've had same overdraft expiry notice from abbey for 1/12/08 I've spoke to them on phone and they say I need to open a new bank account. Anyone help??
  • To open a new bank acct between now and Monday, and transfer wages, dd's etc is going to be a nightmare. Three kids and Christmas coming...bah humbug abbey
  • kazkaz
    kazkaz Posts: 36 Forumite
    I've had the same letter from Abbey.
    We were struggling with bank charges and they have sent us a letter saying our over draft (£450) will expire on 01/01/09.
    I've opened a basic account somewhere else so at least we get our full wages this month which should help us get back on track, we where losing most of our wages in bank charges. It was a vicious circle.

I've also written to Abbey complaining how they dealt with the account. They paid cheques and direct debits whilst we were over the over draft limit then charged us £35 for doing it.
    Also requested that they reclaim their charges

Kaz
  • wheelel
    wheelel Posts: 36 Forumite