Small Quantities of Oil?

Options
Hi There,

We have just moved into a place and it uses oil to power the central heating and water. Despite the recent drops in oil price (less than US$90 per barrel today!!), I appreciate it is still expensive and will cost me more than the price above anyway.

I work in a shop and can will have access to free gas (when people return a half empty bottle I can use it at no cost). SO will probably invest in a Portable Gas Heater for the winter.

Is it possible to buy small quantities of oil to tide us over for water etc, or do I need to buy tankfuls? I'm not sure how much the tank holds but will find out tomorrow hopefully. I honestly don't know much about oil, so please excuse me if this is a silly question. Also approximately what may it cost per litre? (I am Gloucestershire if that helps.)

Apologies again for my total dimness!!

Thanks,
Tom

Comments

• si-mate
    si-mate Posts: 76 Forumite
    Options
    I doubt you would find anyone who would deliver much less than 500 litres.
    You're currently looking around 50ppl. Check boilerjuice for a more accurate price for your area.
  • nesssie1702
    nesssie1702 Posts: 1,345 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Anniversary
    Options
    Depending on the area that you live in you might be able to buy central heating oil at the petrol pumps - they sell it as red diesel.

When I get my fuel delivered, there's always a note saying "This fues is not to be used as Road Fuel"

So I guess you could buy it in small quanties if you can finds someone close to you who supplies farmers etc
  • owned_by_2_Siamese
    Options