🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Submit your suggestions via this form or post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

Thinking of going camping in italy

Options
Hi
Me and the clan (2adults 2kids) are thinking of a camping holiday in the Italian lakes or maybe a boating trip (August).

Never having been on one before (checked out the eurocamp website and they look great) can someone advise me on pitfalls - best place to book - drive/train/plane? and whats the best way to book a ferry or maybe even a train ticket direct?

As I said .......total novice at the going overland and camping thing, but in need of something different this year bored with the usual package deals.

Thanks in advance
Steven

Comments

• Cumbrian_Male
    Options
    European campsite of the year multiple times is Unionlido

Getting there you can fly into Venice Marco Polo with Easyjet or Venice Treviso with Ryanair.

If you want to go by coach with accomodation included (which is what we do ) have a look at Bolero

Hope this is some help.
    I have a cunning plan!
    Proud to be dealing with my debts.

• Magentasue
    Magentasue Posts: 4,229 Forumite
    Options
    We've done Union Lido (with Eurocamp) and recommend it. We flew Stanstead to Treviso and then bussed it to the camp. You don't need a car, everything is on site and the bus takes you to the ferry port for Venice (no cars there anyway). Doing it our way means travel light - you don't need to book the transfers and everyone is very helpful, just have to be brave! Public transport was excellent.
  • Crispy_Ambulance
    Options
    We went this year to Lake Garda with Keycamp. Campsite was Fontanelle and was right on the lake. It was a lovely site and great for kids.