Just wanted to say thank you, thank you, thank you!

Options
Really, thank you to the site and all of you who post your invaluable money saving tips on here. Newbie here who is absolutely astonished by the amount of money I've saved recently.

I've spent some time over the last few weeks (although I'm not finished yet!) reviewing all of our finances for 2 reasons really - firstly to try and save us some money (obviously) and secondly to make sure we were getting the best prices for everything.

Current savings are as follows:

Car Insurance - £215
MPPI - £488
Central Heating and Boiler Cover etc - £135
Pet Insurance - £82
Total so far of £920!! :j

I truly am astonished...and cross that I didn't do this sooner!

We also saved £450 by asking our Gas and Electric supplier to review our monthly direct debit payment as I felt we were overpaying (we've had solar hot water installed so are using little to no gas during the summer months) and they reduced it by £37.50 per month!

Total so far of £1370!! :j

Have just emailed Sky to reduce our TV package (only by £5 per month but every bit helps doesn't it!) so that's another £60 and I'm trying to persuade them to give us a free sky+ box too! If you don't ask....

Grand total so far of £1430!!:j

Still got a few areas to look at to see if we can save any more but I think this is a good start!!

Thanks again. :D
Grocery Budget from 24th August to 31st August - £100/Declared at £99.27 :j

Grocery Budget for September - £400

Comments

• Well done Astonished

This is exactly why the site exists, and we're glad you are making such impressive savings. Keep it going!

Follow @MSE_Forum on twitter
    Join the MSE Forum
    New forum user? Watch our New to the Forum? Youtube guide
    Get the Free Martin's Money Tips E-mail
    Report inappropriate posts: click the report button
    Point out a rate/product change
    Flag up a news story: news@moneysavingexpert.com
  • Astonished_2
    Options