Saving to move out - my savings diary

Options
mandatory
mandatory Posts: 243 Forumite
Combo Breaker First Anniversary
edited 21 December 2012 at 3:32PM in How much have you saved?
Hi everyone! I've read a lot of savings diaries over the last week or so and it's really made me want to write my own... so here I am! :j

I'm 25 and I live with my grandparents but I've been here for five years and I'd really like to live on my own now. They are lovely people and played a big part in my upbringing but they're smokers and I'm asthmatic so when I'm in the house I'm confined to my room, plus I love to cook and would appreciate my own space to do it in.

I've been working for almost a year now, and I would've been working after I graduated in 2008 but a long spell of weight-related ill health, depression and then training to work as an accounting technician (which I LOVED) have set me back considerably. I'm on an entry-level salary at the moment and have yet to make any student loan repayments as I'm right on the threshold level for repayments (£15k), but this is expected to change in April when my manager leaves and I get promoted. :) It's a nice feeling to actually have some money for a change rather than constantly worry about where my future is heading and I can actually start living!

Monthly income is around £1,050 and I don't have many outgoings;

Rent - £200
Bus - £48
Internet - £20
Mobile - £15
Magazines - some are quarterly but average at £10 p/m
Weight Watchers pass - £21 (this will stop when I get to goal)
Clothes - variable due to constant weight loss
Food - variable, I cook my own meals and it's a combination of my nan shopping or me shopping. I cook from scratch and favour batch cooking when I cook for myself but I pay for my own snacks and take my own lunch to work
Music lessons - variable but average at £25 p/m, will go up once I prepare for my first exam