Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    dseers335
    0 WOW
    Beware - Goldcar Car Rentals Spain
    • #1
    • 22nd Sep 10, 6:02 PM
    0 WOW
    Beware - Goldcar Car Rentals Spain 22nd Sep 10 at 6:02 PM
    I booked a trip to Alicante airport for myself and my girlfriend. We wanted to hire a rental car and ended up booking with a hire company called Goldcar.

    They seemed quite cheap and already have "all-inclusive" insurance included so it sounded good.

    I will make sure I never go near this company again.

    Firstly, when we arrived we had to queue for just over an hour before getting to the front of the desk. Being peak-season we weren't too suprised and, although inconvenient, we could bare this.

    When we reached the desk the rep was very abrupt and bordered of rudeness. This didn't really bother me (at the end of the day this guy was working and had a lot of holiday-makers to get through).

    When we had finished with the details the rep asked if I wanted "full CDW insurance" or just "basic" cover for tyres and glass. Now, as I have hired cars several times in the past I am fully aware of exclusions (tyres/glass/keys etc) and so replied that I did not require any extra insurance and my credit card covers for the tyre/glass etc charge - but did query the "full CDW insurance" he was offering. The man looked at me and said "if you are involved in a crash then we will need to charge you for all repairs". I told him that this was already included in the cost I had paid for the hire and highlighted the wording on my voucher which backed up my understanding. "it is not correct. if you have a crash you only have 3rd party and we will take a 5000.00EUR excess-deposit until the repairs are worked out" - using these words exactly. The rep was basically telling me I had zero cover whereas the paperwork I had and the website tells me I was all-inclusive.

    After several more minutes of this I agreed to take the extra cover so I could enjoy the rest of my holiday stress-free and had to pay up a further 60.00EUR.

    The rep just handed me an electronic paid to sign which had no indication of what I was paying for or agreeing to exactly. A few days later I inspected the contract to see that the total price and been converted to GBP with a 2% mark-up, the cost of fuel was priced at 82.00EUR and I was charged for some kind of diesel-upgrade on top without my consent (I had booked a petrol!).
    The vehicle itself had some problems but it is rare to be given a perfect rental car, especially in Spain, so this was OK.

    When I got home I sent an email to my broker ("Carjet") who confirmed my understanding of the insurance (all-inclusive except for the tyres/glass etc). They could not really disagree as I was going by the wording on their's/Goldcar's website.

    Carjet then contacted Goldcar with my complaint to get to the bottom of it. After a few weeks, Goldcar replied to say that their rates were all-inclusive except for a few minor items and they did not take any deposit in case of a crash. Goldcar said that I must have misunderstood due to the language barrier and the cover I had taken was only cover for punctures/loss of keys etc and their rates included in more just 3rd party.

    After a few more emails back and forth Goldcar closed the case stating "we can't refund when the client has signed the contract".
    This email probably makes me sound like newbie who doesn't read the small print but I really am not (it gives me something to do during the flight!). My partner also backs up entirely what I have said and encouraged my to write this.

    That's my review. Stay away from Goldcar if it can be helped. The salesmen at the desk will lie to you outright in order to make an extra few Euros commission.

    I have prebooked my next trip and Carjet were able to arrange the car hire through "Solmar" this time for the same price.
Page 1
    • melb
    • By melb 22nd Sep 10, 7:19 PM
    • 2,510 Posts
    • 950 Thanks
    melb
    • #2
    • 22nd Sep 10, 7:19 PM
    • #2
    • 22nd Sep 10, 7:19 PM
    we hired through carjet and were allocated goldcar at alicante. we had paid carjet before we went for the insurance for tyres/lost keys etc which came to £17 which seemed good value compared to the £60 goldcar charge but, there again, if you run into problems you have to pay and then reclaim from carjet when you return home which is not ideal. Anyway, my OH has a Nationwide credit card which we always use to pay for things in euros as it's the cheapest way (I think),I said to the lady we wanted to pay in euros from the start then when he was handed the contract to sign and I said you are charging him in Euros aren't you and she said yes. He then gave her his credit card and asked the same question and she said yes - em I think so. of course we should have checked but didn't. When I looked at the contract, of course we too had been charged in GBP with the 2% mark-up. really annoying! However when i checked it out with the exchange rate of the day we were only about £8 down but, I agree with you, it's the principal of the matter. I think solmar may be one of the few that do a full/full fuel policy which will be good for you (don't take my word for it though)
  • dseers335
    • #3
    • 23rd Sep 10, 10:44 AM
    • #3
    • 23rd Sep 10, 10:44 AM
    I checked with Carjet and Solmar do indeed do Full/Full so this should save me some on the fuel charge.
    I just didn't appreciate the way Goldcar went about their business. I can take the losses but I was not happy that I was lied to and it made me wonder what else they were capable of...
    • melb
    • By melb 23rd Sep 10, 11:22 AM
    • 2,510 Posts
    • 950 Thanks
    melb
    • #4
    • 23rd Sep 10, 11:22 AM
    • #4
    • 23rd Sep 10, 11:22 AM
    there's plenty of horror stories on this forum along about a whole host of car hire companies and their dubious practices - however in our case were blatantly lied to. We asked the question and were told a lie.
  • SwissLe
    • #5
    • 25th Sep 10, 11:12 PM
    • #5
    • 25th Sep 10, 11:12 PM
    I've heard horror stories about Goldcar and as a regular car hirer in Spain slightly smirk as I breeze past the queue for Goldcar in AGP heading towards to National desk. The guys there are so friendly, the cars always in perfect condition, run full to full (no fuel pre purchase), they only take 100euro deposit and very rarely check the car or even question the condition when returning. The little extra is well worth it for a brand name you can trust, and also a decent fuel policy.
    I'm going for my QuidCo £million!
    Total So Far: £9923.58
  • jradx
    • #6
    • 1st Oct 10, 6:09 PM
    Goldcar & MasterCard in £ against my wishes
    • #6
    • 1st Oct 10, 6:09 PM
    Hi all,
    Never thought to search on GoldCar until now. Similar happened to me this August with GoldCar at Alicante.

    On Carjet's advice, I specifically asked to pay in Euros. The Goldcar's assistant was English, so there was no missunderstanding. I too had to sign on an electronic machine, and they pass you the invoice folded so you can't see what the total price is.

    Anyway, the area on the Invoice where the MasterCard rate info is placed has two types of message on it. The first says I accept the MasterCard rate, and the second says I have refused the MasterCard currency conversion. Both the Euro and £ values are printed.

    I had to assume it was going to pass to Santander as a Euro transaction. But you've guess it, it hasn't and it's clearly in £.

    So I paid £329 via Goldcar and MasterCard, whereas via Santander Zero card it would have been £316.

    As you may know the Santander Zero CC is a no foreign commission card, and the rate on the 28th Aug was .8232 (or 1.21) which was pretty close to the spot rate for the day.

    So, clearly GoldCar have entered into an arrangement with MasterCard and changed their invoice software to accomodate it. What I am wondering is whether that applies to Visa as well.

    Anyway, it was clearly against my wishes, and I have an Invoice to prove it. So I'm going to complain to Goldstar in writing.

    And find another company - alas I aways like to hire an automatic, and Goldcar is the company that aways seems to have them.

    rgds
    John
  • dseers335
    • #7
    • 14th Oct 10, 11:56 AM
    • #7
    • 14th Oct 10, 11:56 AM
    I'm glad I am not the only one to have problems with this company. Hopefully enough people see enough of these warnings they will know to avoid!!

    There are a lot of rent-a-car companies just off the airport just 2 mins away (and they usually pick you up in their mini bus) who do the automatic transmissions.
  • dgriffit
    • #8
    • 25th Oct 10, 12:49 PM
    Goldcar - legalised thievery ....
    • #8
    • 25th Oct 10, 12:49 PM
    Where do I start .... I'm a regular visitor to spain (5 times a year) and an experienced car renter having used most of the companies. Never using goldcar again. This summer they charged me 95 Euros for a tank of diesel in a berlingo. No option to bring back full, that was the deal. RIP-OFF.
    Then I was asked if I wanted extra insurance as it was only third party. I told them they were wrong as I booked via Carjet and all their rates are inclusive of fully comprehensive insurance. I queried this twice and was told it was third party only. As I knew I was correct I declined their "offer". A quick email to Carjet the next day confirmed I was covered. I have complained about both points to Goldcar and seven weeks later no answers. I have chased them at least twice a week for a response.
    I have been told that their sales team are on direct commission for selling insurance that isn't needed and get sacked if they don't meet their targets. I've also been told that Carjet (who I apportion no blame to whatsoever and have always found to be extremely helpful and straightforward) will be dropping Goldcar shortly due to all the complaints they've had. The sooner the better I say to get rid of what amounts to legalised thievery.
    If you book with Carjet and get a rental voucher for Goldcar I seriously suggest you contact Carjet immediately and they will gladly change you to a different company (may be a different cost but believe me its worth it).
    I've just come back from a visit and this time used Auriga Crown - had a quarter of tank in and took it back with a quarter of a tank and no fuel charges, no insurance scams either so I'll be using them from now on.
    Finally - if you do go to spain a lot then consider taking out annual car insurance excess in the UK - covers you for all insurances excesses including wheels, tyres and glass etc and you can get it for about £40 a year (which is about what you get charged for 2 weeks rental when in spain).
  • niblo
    • #9
    • 5th Nov 10, 3:02 PM
    Goldcar Rental Spain
    • #9
    • 5th Nov 10, 3:02 PM
    I have just returned from Spain where I hired a car through Goldcar at Jerez Airport (through Auto Europe).
    I had the standard CDW provided through Goldcar.
    I had an accident, which was not my fault but the other party did not stop. The car was a write off. When I got to the airport to make an accident report at the Goldcar desk 2 days later, (after getting out of hospital) they had already taken 4000 euros from my credit card.
    Having spoken to MBNA upon arriving home I am told that they can carry on taking money out of my account to fund "repairs" even though the car has been written off. MBNA will get their fraud department involved if the firm cannot provide a breakdown of the figures.
    The last email from the hire company states that the "repairs" will cost 12000 euros and that I am not covered for these damages by their insurance! HELP! Does anyone have any ideas about what I can do?
  • conking
    Traveljigsaw(UK) and Goldcar bandits-Alicante Airport
    Hired car for a week in September 2010 via Traveljigsaw (UK) from Goldcar-Alicante Airport.Ripped off for full tank of fuel and upgrade to diesel(petrol requested)at the airport. On returning to UK found that another 120 euros were taken by Goldcar from my credit card on my day of departure.It took 2 months for Travel jigsaw to find out that this was taken for the compressor missing from the car.Goldcar would not inspect the car on collection or return as they were too busy.We had no need to use a pump and did not know if we ever had one.Traveljigsaw say my contract was with Goldcar so they cannot help.My credit card company are investigating.
    AVOID TRAVELJIGSAW AND GOLDCAR LIKE THE PLAGUE.THEY REALLY KNOW HOW TO SPOIL YOUR HARD EARNED AND MUCH NEEDED HOLIDAY.
  • tryagain444
    Goldcar
    never ever rent a car from the above company it is the biggest rip-off going.

    1-when arrive in the airport will inform you that you are not insured for recovery or many other things.

    2-they give you a full tank and you have to use the lot then if you return the car with even half full you have lost it bacause they will tell you there is a charge of €15 for refueling the car.

    I have been renting cars in tenerife over the last 20 years this is the worst company I have ever rented from I ended up paying twice the original payments its your money and dont waste it in such a way go and spend it for your holiday.
    • nic_c
    • By nic_c 27th May 11, 2:20 PM
    • 1,078 Posts
    • 611 Thanks
    nic_c
    There was an article in The Guardian in February (put "goldcar the guardian" in a search engine to find it) about cases where Goldcar malaga took money off credit cards after people have returned cars and flown home.
  • ronsoron
    After having read all of the posts regarding this company, I have to say I Totaly agree with what has been said. LEAVE THIS COMPANY ALONE. DO NOT DEAL WITH THEM. GO ELSWARE. YOU WILL WISH THAT YOU DID IF YOU DEAL WITH THEM.
    At Alicante airport in January of this year they ripped me off with both fuel charges and more important credit card charges for converting Euros to Sterling even though I CAREFULLY STATED THAT I WANTED MY CARD BILLED IN EUROS. You are asked to sign a blank computer screen after having discussed the contract and like a fool, I trusted the receptionist that all was well. The following morning I checked my contract and found that I had been billed in POUNDS not EUROS AS REQUESTED and had been billed 2.5% for a poor exchange rate, FOR THIS SCAM. Not only that but also overcharged for my hire as well as the disgracefull cost of fuel.
    It gets worse.! I thought that this was a genuine mistake, however my son booked the same vehicle with them in May of this year and guess what. THEY DID THE SAME TO HIM.
    I HAVE STOPPED A NUMBER OF GOLDCAR CARS AND ASKED THE DRIVER TO CHECK HIS CONTRACT , AFTER EXPLAINING WHAT MY PROBLEM WAS WITH GOLDCAR AND GUESS WHAT. THEY HAVE DONE THE SAME TO THEM.
    No mistakes with this company. It is deliberate. Stay AWAY.
    • Armchairfan
    • By Armchairfan 13th Jun 11, 9:47 AM
    • 136 Posts
    • 116 Thanks
    Armchairfan
    I've only just caught up with this thread. We booked through CarHire3000 and they came up with Goldcar. This was in Fuerterventura in April. They pulled the insurance trick and I noticed later on the receipt that there was also a 5 euro upgrade charge. Needless to say there was no upgrade to the vehicle.
    • robins66
    • By robins66 14th Jun 11, 8:16 PM
    • 83 Posts
    • 29 Thanks
    robins66
    Yet another Goldcar victim. Booked 7 seater Fiat Doblo for Majorca. On arrival allocated a 5 seater Berlingo. There were six of us. Staff unhelpful and wouldn't allow us to contact car rental agent for assistance. I had no battery on my phone and no coins for the payphone. She told us they didn't do a 7 seater, therefore why did it come up with a costing on the vehicle search. Eventually left with no option but to pay 85 euros for a taxi to send someone to the hotel. My husband was asked to sign a space on a credit card machine, which he did. Subsequently found that we had been charged 95 euros for fuel plus an additional 15 euros diesel charge, an extra euro per day for the additional driver on top of the already agreed 2.14 euros per day AND she had taken the payment in sterling with a 2% mark up on the exchange rate. Our rental costs were double plus we ended up paying 154 euros taxi fares. Awaiting their response but considering raising a cross border complaint through the UK European Consumer Centre: http://www.ukecc.net/sub.asp?id=211
    I would encourage others to do the same.
  • sabinal
    goldcar
    If you do not take out full insurance with this companies insurance at 35 euro per week.You will be in for avery large bill if you breakdown,
    they say roadside assistance(IMPLYING AA OR RAC) but only if you have there insurance.When i picked up the car it had a small dent in the rear passenger door but nothing stating this on booking form VERY DODGY i informed the only man issuing keys, who said DON T WORRY ABOUT IT(O YES).I always get my wife to video my inspection of cars i hire,and also the reporting of the damage to the goldcar employee in case goldcar say it was damage by myself.
    On returning the car to malaga airport there was only one man in the goldcar portacabin office who only wanted the keys and would not come out and inspect the car. Again this is wide open for goldcar to
    levy a charge for any damage they say was caused by myself,or after the date of return when the car is refuelled (THAT S A RIP OF TO FOR FUEL) Hope this helps other hirer s of cars from GOLDCAR
  • LinseyEvans
    Never rent from Goldcar
    We go to Tenerife every year and always rent from Autoreisen. This year I was tempted by a cheap deal from Goldcar through car hire 3000. It ended up costing twice as much as quoted.

    You pay 55 euros for the fuel (we only used half a tank and this is much more than it costs to fill up a tank in Tenerife anyway). The full insurance is not included (it is with Autoreisen) another 72 euros. An extra charge for a diesel car (which we did not request). A charge for an upgrade which we did not get.

    As well as the extra cost the staff were rude and brusque and the car had been driven by smokers and reeked of cigarette smoke - disgusting!

    I will never rent from them again and would advise others not to do so either. I wish I'd read the reviews first - you live and learn.

    This company needs to make its extras more apparent and stop charging for things you have not received and did not request.
  • andrewflyboy1
    Never ever use Goldcar
    Could not agree more with the above posts. We rented a Belingo in Palma
    I was forced to take out the "Relax" insurance as I was told there was essentially no cover for the car and I would be liable for all costs in the event if an accident. This is despite having my own car hire insurance excess policy but this is only valid up to £3K. I have never come across a car rental company that provides no basic cover for the car.

    I also got stung for the rip off furl policy. I was charged €105 for 65 litres of fuel. This should cost around €75 at 1.29/litre of diesel. So a whopping 40-50% mark up and thats not accounting for the fact that it's impossible to use a whole tank. I used 1/2 tank.So a cool €70 odd profit to Goldcar for the fuel.
    I also got ripped off on the credit card scam being charged in £.

    I did complain to Car 3000 who of course got the standard response from Goldcar that it's in their T&C's. Car3000 cannot wash their hands of this as they are acting as the agent for this company.

    I cannot emphasise enough that this company should be avoided at all costs. They are an utter and total rip off and happily hide behind their T&C's to protect themselves.
  • sed153
    Things haven't improved...
    We have just returned from a holiday in Lanzarote. We had booked a hire car through autoeurope, and my business was contracted out to Goldcar. Upon arriving at Lanzarote airport there was a HUGE queue for the Goldcar desk - this is in March, I dread to think what the queue would be like in July/August. Having little choice we joined the back of the queue, but after 1 hour and 15 minutes of queuing, we had only progressed one third of the way along the queue. This was with four goldcar staff present and dealing with customers. Shortly after, 2 of the Goldcar staff disappeared completely, and the queue slowed down even more. There was no chance we were going to spend what looked to be at least another 2 hours queuing for a hire car. We approached one of the Goldcar staff and asked how we could cancel. She took one look at my paperwork and said "you phone this number" - no appology, no shame, no customer care and very rude. We then approached the other car hire companies at the airport. Full credit to Payless car hire - with just one woman on the desk, she found us a car, took details, took payment and explained everything within 5 minutes. Now why can't 4 Goldcar employees do the same job as 1 Payless employee?? There seemed to be such an unnecssary amount of dithering and form filling at the front of the Goldcar queue. We weren't the only people in the queue who were annoyed with Goldcar. We saw three couples leave the queue to hire cars with other companies, and a lot of disgruntled people who stayed in the queue to collect their car.
    Upon returning to the airport 10 days later to return our car, the queue was even longer then the day we had tried to collect it.
    If you are reading this and considering booking with Goldcar please, please, please - do not book. You will be very disappointed.
    I contacted Autoeurope upon our return and obtained a full refund. I explained that for a company established since 1954, it was very disappointing that they were to be associated with a company so poor as Goldcar. It really put a downer on the start of our holiday.
    • landsberger64
    • By landsberger64 8th Apr 12, 1:24 AM
    • 67 Posts
    • 38 Thanks
    landsberger64
    This is a particular problem in Spain, not just with car hire but any form of debit or credit card transaction I've found, if you hand them a non-Spanish card to pay for purchases, quite often the software will swap the transaction over to pounds, which you have to ask the seller to amend. More than once, I was told this was 'no possible' and that I HAD to pay in pounds. Fortunately, I have a Euro denominated FairFX card and said I would pay in Euros on that. Further discussion led to them saying that I 'had to be charged in pounds because I am not a Spanish citizen' at which point, I just tore the slip up, left the goods at the counter, and walked away.

    Any halfway decent vendor will allow you to swap currencies. Often, if you're handed a console to put a PIN in, it will ask - in English or Spanish - if you want to pay in pounds (YES/NO) and the amount you will pay. It's amazing the number of people who fall for it, to be honest. It is almost always cheaper to pay in euros. Cash machines there will also try this on.
Welcome to our new Forum!

Our aim is to save you money quickly and easily. We hope you like it!

Forum Team Contact us

Live Stats

734Posts Today

6,395Users online

Martin's Twitter
  • I believe I can boldly go where no twitter poll has gone before https://t.co/HA0jC92gAK

  • OK I'm wilting to public pressure and there will be a star trek captain's poll at some point next week

  • I can get that. My order is 1. Picard 2. Janeway 3. Kirk. Too early to say where Lorca will end up (or would you? https://t.co/kawtCOe9RA

  • Follow Martin