Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > About MSE > Site Feedback > Budget Planner Online Version help thread (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

  • Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

    Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

  • No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
Budget Planner Online Version help thread
Closed Thread
Views: 72,221
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19-09-2007, 5:22 PM   #1
MSE Andrea
Forum Editorial Liaison
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
MSE Andrea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Here :)
Posts: 6,319


This thread is specifically so you can

Ask questions/discuss technical issues about the Online Planner


IMPORTANT. This is only for technical questions.

Alternative discussions

Discuss Budgeting in general
Discuss the Spreadsheet version

Read the article first.

If you still have any problems, then click reply to discuss below.

Alternatively ask questions about the
__________________


Follow the Forum on Twitter and Pinterest
Join the MSE Forum
New forum user? Watch our New to the Forum? Youtube guide
Get the Free Martin's Money Tips E-mail
Report inappropriate posts: click the report button
Point out a rate/product change
Flag up a news story: news@moneysavingexpert.com

Last edited by MSE Archna; 10-06-2010 at 4:15 PM.
MSE Andrea is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to MSE Andrea For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 2
Redbrass
Old 03-10-2007, 8:36 AM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Is there a OpenOffice version?
Redbrass is offline
Report Post
# 3
partylou
Old 18-12-2007, 10:54 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
Default

this budjet planner is highly reccomended, it worked for me and thats sayin something.
No Links in Signatures by Site Rules - MSE Forum Team 2
partylou is offline
Report Post
# 4
purdles
Old 27-01-2008, 7:54 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Default

I have Microsoft Vista which uses Works as an automatic programme to open up budget planner, but it is not recognised. I have uploaded Microsoft Office excel but still cannot open it. I have tried save as and changing the file type but still no luck. I really hate Vista.. can anyone help?

Thanks
purdles is offline
Report Post
# 5
munckinpie
Old 26-03-2008, 10:58 AM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wirral
Posts: 15
Default

I'm a bit lost on this site as it is very busy. I wanted to know how, when people reply, they have what their debts are underneath and how much they aim to pay off and if they are on target etc and then totals may be crossed out with a new total....how do they do that????:confused:
munckinpie is offline
Report Post
# 6
corkyspider
Old 01-07-2008, 10:02 AM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Hi All,

I haven't got around to posting anywhere else but stumbled upon this forum and thought I would reply where I could...

purdles - your operating system (vista) shouldn't cause you a problem. The fact that MS Works is your default program is what needs to be changed. If you have installed a proper copy of MS Excel you need to change the program that opens .xls files as default.

First off, I would suggest downloading the budget planner file again if you have been trying to (re)save it as different things.

Secondly, you need to change your program that opens .xls files. Forgive a non vista user, but I think it is something like this...

1. Click Start, and then click Control Panel.
2. Click Programs.
3. Under Default Programs, click Make a file type always open in a specific program.
4. Find the file extension (.xls) you want to change. Then, click Change Program.
5. Select the program you want to use (Excel). If its not in the Recommend Programs list, click Browse to locate it (its probably somewhere under C:\Program Files\). Then, click OK.
6. Click Close.

If that doesn't work, try googling "change default xls program in vista" (without ""). That should help!

munckinpie - I think you are simply talking about other MSE posters having a signature. To change yours, log in and click the 'User CP' link under the welcome message at the top of the page. Then on the left, click the 'Edit Signature' link and you can add what you like. This will then be added to the bottom of every post you make.

Hope that helps?!?!

Cheers

Corx
corkyspider is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to corkyspider For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 7
bobito
Old 15-10-2008, 6:59 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 9
Default "technical issues about the Online Planner"

"Maintenance" is mis-spelled "maintenence" in the Online Budget Calculator (sorry to be a pain, but I can't help correcting .....).
bobito is offline
Report Post
# 8
mandy05
Old 07-11-2008, 12:34 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Every time I try to enter any details in the budget planner it says its protected but when I try to remove the protection it needs a password which I dont know. Can anyone help?
mandy05 is offline
Report Post
# 9
suelizab
Old 18-11-2008, 9:30 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east
Posts: 138
Default

the password is 'money'
suelizab is offline
Report Post
# 10
suelizab
Old 18-11-2008, 9:32 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east
Posts: 138
Default

sorry, forgot to add that martin states the password is money when he talks about the budget planner .
suelizab is offline
Report Post
# 11
Soul Sister
Old 03-01-2009, 10:20 AM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default

This is my first post EVER on anything! I think I'm being particularly stupid, but I too cannot get into the Budget Planner. I've tried everything suggested in this thread - I'm a Vista user too. I just keep getting up that the file is password protected. How do I enter the password? I don't seem to be given the opportunity?

Many thanks
Soul Sister is offline
Report Post
# 12
oldman32
Old 03-01-2009, 9:55 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 12
Default Budget Planner

Seems to be a problem with most users of Vista!
If you want to contact me directly I can email an unlocked copy to you if that would help.
oldman32 is offline
Report Post
# 13
Soul Sister
Old 05-01-2009, 10:29 AM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Many thanks - very grateful
Soul Sister is offline
Report Post
# 14
money2crunch
Old 04-03-2009, 6:55 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
Default On-Line Budget Planner.

I am trying to print off a copy of the on-line budget planner but am unable to get a full chart. I am running vista . The chart ends at the income heading with no boxes to fill in. Can any one help please?.:confused:
money2crunch is offline
Report Post
# 15
adrian2000
Old 20-05-2009, 7:03 AM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Leicestershire
Posts: 506
Default

I had tried to download the file but when I click on the link nothing happens? Does anyone else get this?
Adrian
adrian2000 is offline
Report Post
# 16
Geoffjb1972
Old 27-05-2009, 7:26 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Default Budget Planner Help...

Hi,

I've downloaded the budget planner, but how do I fill it in?

I click onto a square to put a total in and all I get is a cross, I can't write anything in the square.

I'm not exactly computer literate so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Geoff.
Geoffjb1972 is offline
Report Post
# 17
lululamb
Old 20-09-2009, 8:31 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 11
Default

I've downloaded the planner and when i try to type anything in it won't let me. I can't see a why to make it unprotected

Edit: Just worked out it is because i am using the trial version of Microsoft Office so will install the full version tomorrow and then it should work

Last edited by lululamb; 20-09-2009 at 8:36 PM.
lululamb is offline
Report Post
# 18
rafi2
Old 22-11-2009, 2:42 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default

I am trying to print off the online Budget Planner and Martin says use the Print button at the end.

Maybe I just can't see it but I have searched and there is no Print Button.

Can anyone throw light or a suggestion on this please?
rafi2 is offline
Report Post
Closed Thread

Bookmarks
 
 




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 Forum Jump  

Contact Us - MoneySavingExpert.com - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:59 AM.

 Forum Jump  

Free MoneySaving Email

Top deals: Week of 22 October 2014

Get all this & more in MoneySavingExpert's weekly email full of guides, vouchers and Deals

GET THIS FREE WEEKLY EMAIL Full of deals, guides & it's spam free

Latest News & Blogs

Martin's Twitter Feed

profile

Cheap Travel Money

Find the best online rate for holiday cash with MSE's TravelMoneyMax.

Find the best online rate for your holiday cash with MoneySavingExpert's TravelMoneyMax.

TuneChecker Top Albums

  • ED SHEERANX (DELUXE EDITION)
  • STATUS QUOAQUOSTIC (STRIPPED BARE)
  • SAM SMITHIN THE LONELY HOUR (DELUXE EDITION)

MSE's Twitter Feed

profile
Always remember anyone can post on the MSE forums, so it can be very different from our opinion.
We use Skimlinks and other affiliated links in some of our boards, for some of our users.