Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Myshkin3
    • By Myshkin3 9th Jan 18, 9:39 PM
    • 11Posts
    • 1Thanks
    Myshkin3
    Cel - ccj
    • 9th Jan 18, 9:39 PM
    Cel - ccj 9th Jan 18 at 9:39 PM
    Hi

I logged into my credit report today to see a CCJ has been made against me on 22nd November 2017. It's registered against an address I haven't lived at since May 2014.

I found out from County Court Business Centre that it's relating to a Civil Enforcement Ltd penalty notice issued on 6th May 2015. I have no knowledge of this notice, nor have I received any information regarding it.

I sold the car in question in June 2016 and the DVLA have confirmed they have the address I moved to in May '14 on record. I never received any correspondence to that address.

I'm reading all about the set aside requests and have created a defendants statement but am wondering should I follow the standard template that's on these forums? I've tried to contact CEL but get put through to an answer machine - I have written a letter to send to them tomorrow asking for original copies of all correspondence that was sent, including evidence of the parking infringement.

Would it be best to wait and keep trying CEL to see if I get any type of response before issuing my N244 form? There are so many conflicting views on whether not being present at an address is evidence enough.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I was reviewing my record to start to plan for a mortgage!

Thanks
Page 1
    • KeithP
    • By KeithP 9th Jan 18, 10:43 PM
    • 7,679 Posts