Not being asked for verified by visa password when making card purchases

Options
A few months ago, I noticed that I am no longer prompted to enter a Verified by Visa password when I make purchases online, even on sites that support it. I was previously asked to enter my password every time I purchased something to allow the transaction to be completed. This has made me feel a bit unsafe when purchasing things online. I use paypal whenever possible but some retailers (amazon, most notably) don't accept it. I understand that a lot of people found VbV to be an annoyance but I didn't mind it at all. I felt that the added security it provided was worth the extra few seconds required to complete a purchase. I looked on my bank's website and there was an announcement buried amongst the help pages stating that they have quietly dropped VbV and are no longer requiring customers to enter a password. Is this standard policy now for all the major high street banks?

Comments

• PeacefulWaters
    Options
    Lloyds Banking Group dropped it a couple of years ago. Which makes me more likely to use my Halifax credit card online as I always found VBV a curse.

At the time of implementation they said they'd put in place additional security procedures.

Remember, the bank is liable for fraud, not you. VBV didn't seem particularly secure to me as password resets were always lacking any worthwhile security.
  • datlex
    datlex Posts: 2,239 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Barclaycard sent an email recently saying they wouldn't be using it as much.
    Paid off the last of my unsecured debts in 2016. Then saved up and bought a property. Current aim is to pay off my mortgage as early as possible. Currently over paying every month. Mortgage due to be paid off in 2036 hoping to get it paid off much earlier. Set up my own bespoke spreadsheet to manage my money.
  • elsien
    elsien Posts: 32,907 Forumite