PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! In order to help keep the Forum a useful, safe and friendly place for our users, discussions around non-MoneySaving matters are not permitted per the Forum rules. While we understand that mentioning house prices may sometimes be relevant to a user's specific MoneySaving situation, we ask that you please avoid veering into broad, general debates about the market, the economy and politics, as these can unfortunately lead to abusive or hateful behaviour. Threads that are found to have derailed into wider discussions may be removed. Users who repeatedly disregard this may have their Forum account banned. Please also avoid posting personally identifiable information, including links to your own online property listing which may reveal your address. Thank you for your understanding.

"Fair wear and tear" in the bathroom.

Options
Im planning to soon move out of the flat ive been renting for the last four years (2005 build) when my house purchase finally goes through - but im slowly starting the cleanup operation in advance to ensure theres no reason for any deposit to be witheld.

The question i have is regarding the silicon seals around the shower cubicle - over the last four years despite my best efforts have started to get mould embedded in them and the grout around the tiles is starting to discolour.
Now from what ive read on these boards.. once its in the silicon its futile to fix it without removing and resealing - do you think this will count against me and cause issues when i leave? - given the whole flat is now 8 years old - what is the expected lifespan of these kind of fixtures and fittings.

When i obtained the original check-in report - it was noted "bathroom seals grubby" - so if the worst comes to the worst i will call on this to say the issue had already begun and its progression could only be slowed from then on.