Employment Support Allowance (ESA)

Options
Ok i'm new to the Whole ESA thing.

I am currently on week 7ish of my claim. I was under the impression that whilst on this benefit i would be entitled to free NHS dental treatment and free NHS eye tests?
However after going to have my eye test today i was told that my claim letter (which they required to support my free test) did not state whether i am receiving income based ESa or contribution based ESA????? I receive £64.30 per week, as a single person. If this helps?
I was not told this upon booking my eye test.

I have done a bit of research and found somewhere that it mentioned, you are put into either section (income or contribution based) after claiming ESA for 14 weeks? Is this true? If so what does someone like myself do in the mean time?? Am i entitled to NHS treatment or not?

Also my second questions is, what happens when i am ready to return to seeking work (i do not have a job to go back to)? Is it a straight forward process moving from ESA to JSA? Are there waiting days? Will i have to wait weeks for any money again like i did with my new ESA claim?

Any advice would be great as i am finding the whole ESA thing rather confusing and feel like a leper, as no one seems that clued up on this benefit?

Comments

• NASA_2
    NASA_2 Posts: 5,571 Forumite
    Options
    The award letter should say something along the lines of 'this award is based on contributions paid in tax years 06/07 and 07/08' if it is ESA(C). Its worth pointing out that if you are entitled to ESA(C) at the same rate as ESA(IR) then it is the ESA(C) that is taken as being paid and you do not get free dental treatment etc.

The groups you go into at the start of the 14th week are to do with your ability to look for work and nothing else.

If you claim JSA within 26 weeks of leaving ESA then you do not have to serve waiting days and, in theory, its a straight switch from one benefit to another and you should not really be kept waiting too long.