Halifax Clarity Card - Overseas Withdrawals

Options
Hi,

I have seen similar threads on this but not answering the exact question I have been wondering.

I have a Halifax Clarity credit card, which I have been using in the UK for a few months for small purchases and have been paying off in full each month.

I am going abroad soon and where I will be staying near to an ATM that does not charge withdrawal fees.

Instead of exchanging my money at the post office (or other similar places) and taking cash, I was thinking of just taking my credit card, using it for purchases where possible, and withdrawing a small amount as and when needed at the ATM (and choosing the local currency of course).

I have my card account set up to pay in full by direct debit, so I just make my small purchases and it automatically pays it off each month as required.

Am I still okay to do this with the cash withdrawals, i.e. wait for the statement and to let it pay off in full automatically?

Or do they charge interest straight away on withdrawals? In which case, I may be better to just exchange at the post office?

I have just seen this on the website:
Interest charges apply to cash you take out, from the day the cash is withdrawn

Would I be better then just withdrawing and exchanging cash at home before I go and use the card for purchases where possible?

Comments

• Ebe_Scrooge
    Ebe_Scrooge Posts: 7,320 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    They will charge interest on cash withdrawals straight away from the date of withdrawal - even if you pay the full balance off at the end of the month.