IMPORTANT: Please make sure your posts do not contain any personally identifiable information (both your own and that of others). When uploading images, please take care that you have redacted all personal information including QR codes, number plates and reference numbers.

Cel - ccj

Options
Hi

I logged into my credit report today to see a CCJ has been made against me on 22nd November 2017. It's registered against an address I haven't lived at since May 2014.

I found out from County Court Business Centre that it's relating to a Civil Enforcement Ltd penalty notice issued on 6th May 2015. I have no knowledge of this notice, nor have I received any information regarding it.

I sold the car in question in June 2016 and the DVLA have confirmed they have the address I moved to in May '14 on record. I never received any correspondence to that address.

I'm reading all about the set aside requests and have created a defendants statement but am wondering should I follow the standard template that's on these forums? I've tried to contact CEL but get put through to an answer machine - I have written a letter to send to them tomorrow asking for original copies of all correspondence that was sent, including evidence of the parking infringement.

Would it be best to wait and keep trying CEL to see if I get any type of response before issuing my N244 form? There are so many conflicting views on whether not being present at an address is evidence enough.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I was reviewing my record to start to plan for a mortgage!

Thanks

Comments

• KeithP
    KeithP Posts: 37,648 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    In May 2014 you moved to your current address.

Did you notify DVLA of this change to your address for both your driving licence and the car's V5c?
    Did you notify the DVLA in May 2014?