Can someone explain this to me

Options
hov204
hov204 Posts: 10 Forumite
edited 12 November 2018 at 8:18PM in ISAs & tax-free savings
Hi all, I have a question about my ISA, and I am really uncertain about what this all means.
I have had to transfer money out of my ISA into someone else's non-ISA account, and in so, I have lost my "tax free status" on that money. What does this mean- does this mean I have to pay tax on the money I've withdrawn? Do I pay it on the savings? How would I pay tax? If it helps, I have an "instant saver" account (whatever that means). I'm a student, so I wouldn't know about how I would pay tax on this if I need to, considering I don't have a job?

I'm really unsure of what all this jargon means, the internet has not been at all helpful, so any clarification is appreciated because right now I am very very confused. Please help???

Comments

• dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,387 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    I I have lost my "tax free status" on that money. What does this mean

As it is no longer in an ISA, that money no longer has the tax benefits of an ISA.
    Do I pay it on the savings?

As you no longer own the money as you have gifted it to someone else, then you do not pay tax on it.
    I am an Independent Financial Adviser (IFA). The comments I make are just my opinion and are for discussion purposes only. They are not financial advice and you should not treat them as such. If you feel an area discussed may be relevant to you, then please seek advice from an Independent Financial Adviser local to you.
  • le_loup
    le_loup Posts: 4,047 Forumite
    Options
    Don't forget that the interest is where you get to have income that is tax free. So, whilst it was in the ISA any interest was tax free - when it's transferred out of the ISA any interest thereafter is taxable.
  • hov204
    edited 12 November 2018 at 7:30PM
    Options
    le_loup wrote: »