DRO pending and telling council

Options
Hi,

Newbie here!
Looking for much needed advise.
Long story short i owe the council £972 for unpaid council tax from last yr.
I was happily paying them £75pcm after it was sent to court, unfortunately i managed to miss a payment, so off it went to ‘CollectServices’ and they have been knocking and now the debt is £1252!! And that’s after paying £120 🤷🏼!♀️.
So i spoke to StepChange and decided a DRO was for me as i have other debts to tidy up.
I spoke to the council and informed them i was working with Stepchange but not about my pending DRO, but now i only have 1 wk left until they send ‘Collect Services’ back round.
So my question is would you, should I inform Council I’m filing for a DRO as it’s a good 4-5 wks off completion according to StepChange.
I know not to let enforcement agents in my home but it’s my car I’m concerned by, although it’s 15yr old nothing special car it means a lot to me as it gets my children to the clubs they attend.
I just can’t fave them knocking and the anxiety i gave been feeling to come back, every car door every noise it mad me jumpy and on edge the whole time.
Any advise would be gratefully appropriated.

Comments

• fatbelly
    fatbelly Posts: 20,492 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Cashback Cashier
    edited 4 September 2019 at 6:49PM
    Options
    Personally I would not, though I am aware that that contradicts Stepchange's advice.

I have seen too many bailiffs get aggressive when they know a DRO is imminent.

Bailiff charges are £75 and £235 - it sounds like both have been applied though it doesn't quite add up and you should ask them about that.

Could you phone the bailiffs and try to set up a payment plan with the first payment being at the end of the month? Obviously you wouldn't make it but it might buy some time.