Switching energy supplier query

Options
Hi, I'm new to MSE and the forums - and paying bills (sort of!). I've split with my partner who had all the bills in his name for the past 20 years and we kept separate bank accounts. He has paid / will pay the bills up to 31 Jan, after which I will take over. This is where I need some guidance. I came to MSE in search of a good dual fual energy supplier, but I'm not quite sure how to go about it, as I'm not the current bill payer. I looked at making the switch, but I'm not sure how to delay the switch so that it's effective from 1st February 2020. Do I just wait until 1st February to arrange the switch, or is there a way to do it now and make it effective from 1st February, so that I can sit back, knowing that I've taken care of it? Any help / tips greatly appreciated. Thank you! :)

Comments

• Gerry1
    Gerry1 Posts: 9,937 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    Try asking a mod to re-post it in the correct forum - this is for Other Fuels.
  • Robin9
    Robin9 Posts: 12,126 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Name Dropper
    Options
    You can't select the date for the change.

It'll take a few days for the switch to progress and the actual changeover probably 2/3 weeks after you start.

Do you have any idea of what your present annual consumption is?

Use a comparison site and go for the elec and gas separately (dual is not generally the best way) ignore the savings they say and go by the predicted annual cost.

Your selected new supplier drives the change - do not contact your present supplier.

When its all up and running get into the habit of reading your meters at least monthly.
    Never pay on an estimated bill
  • Drumshanbo
    Options
    @Gerry1 I had no idea I was in the wrong forum (no idea how to use these forums yet). Thanks for letting me know though.
  • Drumshanbo
    Options