Advice on my plans please

Hi Guys,

Apologies in advance for the long post, looking for a bit of a health check on my current situation and if my strategy going forward sounds in anyway sensible. I have posted like this a couple of times before quite a few years ago, but I am now a bit older and have more dependents so thought it best to check in again for some critique and advice.

So here is my current situation I am a self-employed contractor in the finance industry operating through a Ltd company which also employs my wife (we are both 36), we have two children 6 and 4.5 years old (both now at school). We moved into our house 4.5 years ago and it was a big push for us to afford especially with two young children however we have done OK but the house is old and we have had to put a lot of things right over the last few years so that has affected our finances.

My earnings as a contractor have provided well for the last 5 or so years and I have been lucky enough to have had hardly any breaks between contracts however my current financial situation leaves me feeling uneasy, along with the fact that our spending is too high, I must clarify though that the spending is not so much on ourselves and fancy things but a lot goes on our kids (we have next to no other family so we provide everything for them, birthdays, xmas, activities etc...), we now realise we haven’t realised just how much we have been spending month to month that was at the detriment to savings and preparation for the future.

With all that said let me give the picture, our current situation is as follows:-

House current market value - 720k approx.
Current Mortgage - 420k (including 113k I have just re-mortgaged for to do a 2nd floor extension and ground floor re-layout) just fixed for 5 years @ 1.94% over 28 years

My wife and I have a stocks and shares ISA each with Robo-investor Nutmeg - total value currently about 25k running at currently a 10 - 12% return on monies invested