Cancelling Sky, what an utter disaster!!

Options
Is it normal to have such issues when cancelling Sky, as I have never done it before?
Are they always this awkward and incompetent??

I have been with them for 20+ years and normally just haggle a retention, but when my bill more than doubled in Jan without any reminder, I decided to just switch to Virgin!

So the end of Jan I went on live chat when I got in from work, and was on there in a queue until it basically cut me off at 7pm and said live chat had closed.
This was four days straight!!

So on Feb 1st I wrote Sky a signed letter with all my details, giving my notice to cancel, and asking for written confirmation and end date.

Over the next week I had two missed calls to my mobile while I was in work, both times they left a vm just saying they were ringing regarding my letter and could I ring them back, no reason as to why!
I had no interest in ringing them, that was why I tried live chat and then a letter!

On Feb 21, I had not heard from them in writing yet, so emailed them asking for an update, to be told by reply they had my letter, but had been unable to contact me to confirm 'security details', and so basically they have ignored it and have closed my cancellation request!! Unbelievable!!!

They said they can open it again if I provided some security details by reply, which I duly did.

They replied the next day that they would now action my cancellation, but from TODAY'S DATE, with two extra emails "sorry you are leaving", one for TV and one for tel/bb, both stating my cancellation was from March 26th!!

Er no chance, I replied reminding them I had written to them three weeks earlier and they chose to ignore it, and that is when my notice goes from, Feb 1st, I want it to end on March 1st and I WILL NOT BE PAYING FOR MARCH!

They replied saying this will be actioned, and I will be sent confirmation by post!

I then had another pile of emails!