PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Simple cheap Main Meal Recipes?

Options
Hi

I'm male and a complete novice at cooking. I can make toast, Cook a chicken etc very very basic.

Any suggestions for SIMPLE healthy cheap meals. I don't eat fish so thats out.

I look forward to getting your ideas. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• **purpleprincess**
    Options
    Hey southpaw!! Check out the mega index up at the top there and there are hundred of ideas in there!!!

I'm going to have a mosy and get some particular links that I think may help you.

Here is a "need old style help" thread

Here is an evening meal planner

Some recipes here

And this is the recipe board thread!!

Should keep you going for a bit!!:p
    Official DFW Nerd no. 082! :cool:
    Debt @ 01/01/2014 £16,956 Debt now: £0.00 :j
    Aims:[STRIKE] clear debt, get married, buy a house[/STRIKE] :D ALL DONE!!
  • Pink.
    Pink. Posts: 17,675 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Hi Southpaw,

Here are another couple of links that might help:

Cheapest meal

Feed 6 for £1.62

low cost meals

Pink
  • annie-c
    annie-c Posts: 2,542 Forumite
    Options
    Spaghetti Bolognese is a good basic meal. It freezes well, so you can make double and have a meal for another time. Serve with spaghetti to be traditional, or with a jacket potato for a change.

This is a nice Spag Bol recipe which shows you the main ingredients and also lists optional 'tasty extras' I don't know the original source as I have it scrawled in paper from many years ago....

Spag Bol (serves 2-3)

Ingredients
    400g mince
    1 onion
    1 red pepper
    1-2 garlic cloves
    Bolognese sauce/Ragu/tinned tomatoes and tomato puree