Spending money for a 5 year old??

Options

Comments

• lynsjh
    lynsjh Posts: 1 Newbie
    Options
    I give my five year old pocket money but it is dependant on him completing his behaviour chart and his five a day fruit and veg chart. we dont give him much but we thought it important that he was aware of the cost of things and how to save up for special things from an early age - a money saving expert in the making.
  • immoral_angeluk
    immoral_angeluk Posts: 24,506 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    We counted Ash's piggy today... she's got nearly £10 in there! :eek:
    Total 'Failed Business' Debt £29,043
    Que sera, sera. <3
  • bebebelle
    bebebelle Posts: 1,453 Forumite
    Options
    Stapeley I couldnt agree more.

I think we should be teaching children the value of being kind to each other, and how to cook a decent meal from scratch.As a teacher, I hear children bragging about their pocket money, in class. It is so sad to see that the rot of materialism has set in ,at 7yrs old.
    I appreciate Each and Every win. I thank every comp poster from the bottom of my heart :A
  • boredofbeingathome
    Options
    I never gave pocket money at that age. We used to have a friday treat,though and they could have a spend in the shop on the way back from school.
    They also liked to earn money from jobs, i used to find this quite interesting as eldest DD would have a price for a job, say 50p for tidying, bribe DS with 20p and leave herself 30p profit with no work.