Direct Line - young driver seeks help

Options
Hello

I'm 21 and I have been driving for 3 years without no claims or convictions however my previous car insurance has been as a named driver on my parents insurance.

I would like to get my own fully comprehensive cover so I have followed Martin's advice and found that direct line is giving me the best offer which is 890 pounds.

I am just wondering if anyone would be able to give some advice as to how I may be able to lower that offer a little more with said company are there any (legal) tricks or ways I can bring it further down?

Also could people please tell me how they found dealing with this insurer?

Thanks in advance

Comments

• AJ1982
    AJ1982 Posts: 266 Forumite
    Options
    You could also try aggregator sites, confused to name one. Also in my days of being 20/21, I wasnt driving as much, so was a named driver, with no accidents/convictions in your shoes, and my parents insurer offered me 1yrs no claims as an intro offer, which we took. Also look at Bell Direct, who gave me a similar offer. Unfortunately without no claims, and being at such an age you are going to have problems, happens to the best of us. You may also look into taking the Pass Plus (if it still exists) or defensive driving course, also a less powerful car also helps. (Although a less powerful car is no fun). Its expensive now, but the eventual rewards (Im now 26, 5 yrs no claims, no acc) im getting mine for around 350 per year.
  • Steve1981
    Steve1981 Posts: 565 Forumite
    Options
    AJ1982 wrote: »
    You may also look into taking the Pass Plus (if it still exists)

it does still exist, however, there are some important criteria, it is only valid for use up to 2 years from when you pass your test, (its only valid into a seond year if you have been driving on another persons policy during the first year and not held insurance in your own name)

not many insurers accept it to begin with