Drainage Consultants - Advice Please

Options
Dear All,

This is my first time posting so please be gentle. Over the weekend, I had a blocked drain outside my kitchen. When I investigated this further, it turns out that the sewer on my land serving my property was blocked. I subsequently found out that it was my responsibility to unblock it. I telephoned up a local company in the yellow pages. I asked how much it was liekly to be, I told £65 per half hour. No call out charge.

They were at my property 20minutes.

Final bill reads (verbatim):

Suckout £60
30mins Labour £70
Waste Disposal £30
Call out Charge / Jetting £40
VAT£35

£235

Two issues I have. One is the call out charge and 1/2hourly rate. The other is to ask anyone is this about right? It seems a lot of money for something that didn't even require them to change clothing. If it is right then I will take the hit. Does anyone have any experience in these things.

Any advice would be appreciated. Then I will not post for another year :-)

Comments

• t_r
    t_r Posts: 134 Forumite
    Options
    Interesting that they are charging you for waste disposal because surely it has gone down your own waste pipe.
    Suckout what does that mean?
    I had a blocked drain went to the builders centre and bought a set of rods.£34 It took about an hour. Job done and I'm now the proud owner of draignage rods
    My opinions are purely my own act on them at your own risk :think:
  • ukwoody
    ukwoody Posts: 531 Forumite
    Options
    It does seem steep, but normally they just have to jet so you may have to swallow the suck and dispose costs (gosh that sounds rude! lol) But I would argue they should have explained that before commencing the additional work - because that is what it is - additional. Since thay havent advised of it, it is cheeky to then charge for it, but the problem is it was only a verbal conversation...