JSA C based - tax credits help

Options
2»

Comments

• Mrs_T_5
    Mrs_T_5 Posts: 81 Forumite
    Options
    Thanks for all your advice - i hopefully will start employment during september - so will not be needing to wait until the january change over for the tax year cut offs . I too have wondered about the voluntary contributions because of the part time work i did during my time at uni i have recieved a number of letters asking if i would like to voluntary pay to make up the numbers sort of thing . I figured that the amount of money i pay now would probably not be repaid back to me - as they say there will be no money left in the coffers by the time i retire.

I am currently a supply teacher so hopefully when on permanant contract will build up a good pension within the profession... heres hoping cos i never seem to qualify for anything from the state!

Thanks for all your replies

Mrs T
  • Tharweb
    Tharweb Posts: 1,193 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Spendless wrote:
    Tharweb-could you explain more why you'd be able to claim from jan next year since we'd still be in current tax year. This question has come up at least once before and it'd be helpful to know when people can claim. TIA

oldmotherreilly has answered the question but basically benefit years start in January and tax years (as we all know) run from April.
    Savvy_Sue wrote:
    Thank you! I have never been sure about this. My experience of paying voluntary conts was when I was self-employed but not earning enough to HAVE to pay NI, however if I paid voluntary conts for those years I could claim Maternity Allowance or whatever it was in those days.

You sure it was voluntary conts you paid? As far as I am aware they have never enabled entitlement to any benefit other than RP. It is however possible to pay SE conts even if you have a low earnings exemption in force for that year in order to qualify for MA though.