How do I cash a cheque at Cash Converters?

I need to borrow a bit of money until the weekend and I've got a cheque gaurentee card, so I've been advised that I'd be able to cash a cheque at Cash Converters and then the money would be payable over the course of a week?

How do I do this? Do I write a cheque from my bank to myself or to cash converters or something? I phoned them up and they told me if you're looking for an "advance" they don't do it via cheque, but offer a loan until payday service, which is no good for me as I'm a student and don't have a job.

Just a bit at a loss as to how exactly I do this, obviously I can't phone them up and ask because I presume they wouldn't cash the cheque if they knew my actual situation.

Comments

• hm71_2
    hm71_2 Posts: 1,980
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Forumite
    we have these organisations round here- cash express etc.. on a £100 cheque they give you £90. you normally have to take in id and your cheque book/card you write a post-dated cheque to the organisation for how ever long you want upto 28 days this affects how much they take from the cheque. best bet if you really want to do it is to look in the yellow pages. other organisations offer a better service to cash convertors- depends where you live.
    Duct tape is like the force. It has a light side, a dark side, and it holds the world together."

FEB challenge £128/£270 balance £142
    £2 saving club £140
  • skyrider007
    skyrider007 Posts: 1,108 Forumite
    Surely if you've got a cheque guarantee card then you must have an agreed overdraft. It should be cheaper than using services form cashconverters or moneyshop etc.
  • davetrousers
    davetrousers Posts: 5,862
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Forumite
    Buy something in a shop with a cheque, then take it back the next day and say that the person you bought it for doesn't want it!

Mind you some shops won't take cheques now.

• JM55_2
    JM55_2 Posts: 15 Forumite