We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

Admiral Policy

Options
Well what excellent customer service (although i was giving them £520! hehehe) I nearly had a heart attack on Wednesday when i rang Direct Line to inform them that my new car had Alloy wheels, as when i took up the policy on the phone the week before i wasn't aware that there were considered a modification. So i phoned them to let them know as i wanted to make sure my policy was valid. I was a bit upset (understatment) when they said they wouldn't cover me as I was an inexpereinced driver. (only had my license for 4 months) This began a frantic 7 hour search for company that would cover me for about the same price, alloys and all. As i had only bought a car because i thought i could afford the insurance. Finally found my way to Admiral, who say that dont mind that i have alloys, as they are not performanc enhancing (too true, an insurance company with logic?!?!) They said that if there was a claim, that they would only replace them with standard wheels, which is fine by me, as they just came on the car when i bought it. So all in all i actually got the new policy cheaper, when all the other companies i looked at were £300 more! yay!
Debt free since July 2013! Woo hoo! The bank actually laughed when I said I have come in to cancel my overdraft.

Comments

• Steve1981
    Steve1981 Posts: 565 Forumite
    Options
    They said that if there was a claim, that they would only replace them with standard wheels, which is fine by me, as they just came on the car when i bought it.

so you are happy and have agreed that if you have a claim you are going to be worse off?