are new car policies always cheaper than renewals?

Options
Hi,
I'm a bit new to car insurance etc. I've been reading lots of posts and articles on MSE and others saying that it is ALWAYS cheaper to start a new policy (with quidco etc) than accept your insurer's renewal quote.

However, I've run a sample quote through the insurer's website (swiftcover) with all the same details as the renewal quote (the only thing different is the names and a few days on the dates of birth), and the new quote is £103 more expensive than the renewal quote. Obviously if quidco tracks and pays this will be reduced by £45, but it is still more than £50 more expensive. Is this normal? I feel I must be missing something!

Any thoughts?

Comments

• mattymoo
    mattymoo Posts: 2,417 Forumite
    Options
    Depends on any introductory offer the new company is offering. Direct Line / Tesco often have 20% off deals for new customers online for instance.

Also worth checking that you haven't changed something since you took the original policy out, that might result in the renewal premium increasing. For instance, change of job / conviction.
  • Ferris
    Ferris Posts: 471 Forumite
    Options
    mattymoo wrote: »
    Depends on any introductory offer the new company is offering. Direct Line / Tesco often have 20% off deals for new customers online for instance.

Also worth checking that you haven't changed something since you took the original policy out, that might result in the renewal premium increasing. For instance, change of job / conviction.

hi, thanks for the reply, but i think you might have misunderstood me. in my case the cost of taking out a brand new policy is £100 more expensive than the renewal quote. the renewal quote is much cheaper, even though both quotes have near identical details (only difference is names and a few days on the dates of birth).