comet extended warrenty worries

Options
hey everyone,
first post so go easy on me, also im having to use a games console so my grammer and spelling may be abit off.

basically i bought a laptop from comet 2 years ago, i also took out a 5 year warrenty for piece of mind.

but on 3/1/08 i booked the laptop in for a repair as it was over heating and the power cable worked intermitently.
i explained at the time that im in my final year at uni and need the laptop for study and around that i work part time for shell and also need it for that.
they said it would take two weeks.
10 days later i got a card through the post saying it would be delayed by 2 weeks, inconvient but these things happen.
so i went in store to collect it and was told it wasnt there and they couldnt find my paperwork, but i should try back the next day.
i did again it wasnt there and noone seemed to know anything about it.
the next day i got a call from the comet service center saying theyd just recieved the laptop (only took 4 weeks to ship it),
but they couldnt find the power cable to test, had i taken it in with the laptop, (yes i had).
next day another card saying it would be another two weeks.
around another 10 days later i recieved yet another card and decided id go instore to complain, the staff basically its not thier problem becuase comet use an external insurance company.
he did atleast phone and promised it would be ready by the date stated on the latest card.

10 days later and shock horror, another card, this time i called the insurance complaints line (which is open 8-5, so pointless if you work full time),
where i was it would deffintaly be ready in two weeks, i wasnt satisfied with that as id been told that alot before, and said i wanted a final deffinate date,
she just said comet can take as long as they like on repairs as they dont set a maximum repair time.