Some more advice please.

Options
Im trying to find ways of clearing my overdraft and having a complete re organisation of my spending!
Firstly I have an overdraft limit of £3500, which I have reached. I have about £2000 on credit card. Ive done a budget planner which shows that I should be in credit each month, but recent overspending has obviously taken me way overdrawn. Im very aware that I need to cut costs and change my spending habits, I think I know how Ive been 'wasting' money and am willing to change my ways!
So, Ive been reading about credit cards and 'super balance transfers'. Would this be beneficial to me? How can I clear my overdraft with a credit card? Im a complete novice when it comes to credit cards, so please give it to me gently and simply ;)

Comments

• YorkshireBoy
    YorkshireBoy Posts: 31,541 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    louise1 wrote:
    So, Ive been reading about credit cards and 'super balance transfers'. Would this be beneficial to me? How can I clear my overdraft with a credit card? Im a complete novice when it comes to credit cards, so please give it to me gently and simply ;)
    You will need a card which allows balance transfers from a current account, MBNA (esp. Virgin) and Egg do this.

Read the "super balance transfer" and "best balance transfer" articles - accessed through the yellow "credit cards" box to left of this screen.

There is also some information on https://www.stoozing.com although not all of it may be relevant.

Post back with any specific questions you have.
  • louise1_3
    louise1_3 Posts: 28 Forumite
    Options
    Thanks, so once I transfer the overdraft to the credit card I then pay that credit card monthly untill the debt has gone? I need to know how much the monthly repayments will be though, before applying to do this.
  • YorkshireBoy
    Options
    Something for you to consider...

I'm asssuming your current credit card is not from the MBNA stable?