Setting up a joint account to pay household bills as a student?

Options
Hi

I'm a student in my first year of uni. This year, I have lived in uni halls, so haven't had to worry about bills or anything. Next year, I'm moving into a privately rented house with 3 friends. We've found a house and signed a contract, but now we're thinking about how we're gonna pay our bills. We've spoken to some second year students, and they've said that the way they do it is they have a joint bank account set up in the names of 2 people living in the house, then everyone sets up a standing order to pay money regularly into that account, and all the bills come out of it. Does this sound like the best way to work it? And if so, roughly how much do you think our monthly bills will be (we need to make sure we put enough in to cover them!) And also, the main question I wanted to ask really - which bank account would you recommend for this situation?

Comments

• CLAPTON
    CLAPTON Posts: 41,865 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Madness.. completely mad
    just don't do it.

A joint a/c links the people (it can be more than 2 ) financially so if one has a bad credit record then all will be affected

A joint a/c means that all are jointly and severally responsible for the debts.. so if one refuses to pay then the other is wholey responsible.

If one runs up an overdraft then the other is responsible .

Its difficult to close a joint a/c so it can haunt you for years afterwards.

Keep it simple.

Make each person responsible for one bill i.e. elec, gas, water, phone

when the bill comes in then sit down and divide it up and one pays the bill and the others simply transfer their share to the payer
  • margaretclare
    Options
    No, I wouldn't do it in your circumstances, living with friends in a shared house.