We've changed the name of this board from 'Greenfingered MoneySaving' to simply 'Gardening'. This is to help make it easier to find for the horticulturally inclined. The URL remains unchanged for the time being, so all links to the board are unaffected.

Sprouted birdseeds

Options
I put a large amount of birdseed out on the table last Sunday. Since then it has been very windy (so much it blew my bird table over) and raining loads. Today is the first sunny/dry day so I decided to take a look at the damage in the garden. The bird table can be fixed however all the bird seed has been spread across my garden and all the seeds has sprouted and they are everywhere.
I swept up as much as i can, but there are still loads out on the lawn and around my plants.
Not 100% sure what kind of birdseeds they are either since I'm new to all this. Bought a mix at the pet shop, I recognize sunflower seeds, red millet, corn, peanuts, and then some grayish seeds that I think were supposed to attract greenfinks. Will the seeds grow into something worth saving (besides sunflowers) or is it just "weed" that should be removed?:o

Comments

• prettypennies
    Options
    Mine have actually sprouted on the birdtable. It it looks like a mini lawn!!!
    Twins, twice the laughs, twice the fun, twice the mess!:j:j
  • noonesperfect
    Options
    Last year I found small hemp plantlets :eek: growing in the gravel underneath my bird feeder!
    :wave:
  • alm721
    alm721 Posts: 727 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Last year I found small hemp plantlets :eek: growing in the gravel underneath my bird feeder!

We had the same only my next door neighbour decided it would be a good idea to let them grow and then dry them out and smoke them. He did dry then in the oven and attempt to smoke although Im nbot sure what they turned out like as he never really said!
  • noonesperfect
    Options