Dog with diabetes

Options
Just found out my dog has diabetes which means special food and daily insulin injections. So far this week we've paid out £160 on vets bills and food! If you see my signature we really cant afford this but the only other option is having her put to sleep which I dont want to do.
I've worked out the cost is going to be £5 per day for food and medicine. Presumably I have to get the insulin and syringes from the vets but is there anywhere I can get Hills Prescription food cheaper?
Debt at lightbulb moment (Dec 06) £60,502
Debt Jan 11 £18010
70% repaid
Debtfree date: December 2011
Proud to be dealing with our debts :D

Comments

• bulchy
    bulchy Posts: 955 Forumite
    First Post
    Options
    Hi, sorry I have no experience in diabetes in dogs, but just been thinking, could you get a prescription of the insulin from your vet and maybe get the insulin cheaper fron vets.uk or somewhere cheaper online? This would surely be a big help, I'm not sure on the Hills food, maybe this is cheaper from somewhere like Vets.uk too. Hope you can get something sorted, fortunately our pets are all insured, but if they werent, just like you say, having them put to sleep isnt an option I would have to find the money somewhere, as they are family members and I couldnt imagine being without them.
    Good luck.
    Sue xx
  • foreign_correspondent
    Options
    my old dog was diabetic, we were never advised to put her on a special diet.
    I believe the vets sometimes get some sort of sweeteners from food manafacturers, but this is just something I have heard, so I cannot confirm it...might be worth checking out though...just a thought.
    Best wishes though, dogs are generally quite happy having the injections, but it my take you some time to get the dosages right. We eventually found our dog was much better on 2 small injections a day than just one bigger dose.
  • Alibi_2
    Alibi_2 Posts: 103 Forumite
    Options