We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

How to fill old vent hole in external wall

Options
I have installed a new tumble dryer that doesn't need the vent hole.
I want to fill the vent hole back up to avoid the chance of critters/anything coming through and it seems wise to avoid any small drafts.

My wall is external, brick, no cavity, with an external render.

Can anyone link me to the specific products I need to do this task myself?

I'm not very good at DIY and have never used concrete before but would like to learn.
There's a lot of different concrete types to choose from so I want to avoid selecting 'the wrong one'.

Thanks!

Comments

• CliveOfIndia
    CliveOfIndia Posts: 1,538 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    One way of doing it would be to fill most of the hole with small smashed-up pieces of brick, then mix up some mortar to hold it all in place and cover it.
    But to be honest, it's far simpler to just use a can of expanding foam filler.  Once it's cured you can sand it back and apply a thin coat of filler or mortar over the top to hide it.  You don't have to cover it with filler or mortar, that's purely for aesthetic reasons.
  • FreeBear
    FreeBear Posts: 14,987 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Photogenic
    Options
    Expanding foam is called Bodger's Foam for a reason. Whilst it is very good and filling small gaps, it isn't going to work too well if you try to fill a 100mm hole in one go. It needs to be built up in thin(ish) layers or you'll find the middle doesn't foam up and harden.