🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Submit your suggestions via this form or post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

HMRC mistake

Options
rugby8753
rugby8753 Posts: 1 Newbie
edited 14 May at 1:38PM in Cutting tax
Hello, newbie here. I’m just looking for some advice about what to do about an HMRC class 4 NI restriction that was not applied correctly by the HMRC on my last tax return (they have admitted this). 
I do my tax return through a company who deal with medical locums and the different range of jobs we tend to do. I work one job which is paid PAYE and the rest are self assessed (sorry if I am not explaining this properly but I’m really not tax or financially savvy hence using a company for my tax return). 
Anyway, this year the HMRC incorrectly assessed the class 4 NI (my tax advisor said it’s because they didn’t count the NI I have already automatically paid through my PAYE job). They have admitted that they have made a mistake and it is going through the process of being retracted but my tax advisor has told me this could take up to 44 weeks. In the meantime I am getting monthly letters from HMRC demanding the extra and adding interest daily. 
I have never had this before and hate receiving letters like this. 
I am wondering if I should just pay it and then apply for a refund when it is finally sorted or leave it? If I repaid it would that be showing the HMRC I think I am in the wrong? And if I pay would I also get the interest accrued back in the refund? 
Any thoughts/advice would be helpful.