🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions, or submit your suggestions via this form. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

Sole Trader - ISA or Pension HELP ..

Options

an anyone please give me some advice on my finances?

I am a 50-year-old sole trader who earns around £28-30k a year with no pension.

After years of renting, I had to move back in with my father after he took a few falls just before COVID. It was meant to be temporary, but years down the line, I am still here and some days feel I will never leave.

I have built up quite a bit in savings, which is (hopefully) for a house purchase, spread across a couple of current accounts earning around 5%.

A lump sum in a fixed ISA which ends in October, and for the last four years, I've been maxing out my ISA allowance to put into a S&S ISA.

My worry is that I do not have any sort of pension or property of my own. Is paying into the ISA the most efficient way to save, or should I be looking into a pension?

Being a sole trader, I have good and bad years with my income varying quite considerably, and the worrier in me always thought it was best to keep the funds handy rather than being tied up in a pension.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Comments

• Dazed_and_C0nfused
    Dazed_and_C0nfused Posts: 13,718 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    edited 9 May at 9:18PM
    Options

After years of renting, I had to move back in with my father after he took a few falls just before COVID. It was meant to be temporary, but years down the line, I am still here and some days feel I will never leave.

I have built up quite a bit in savings, which is (hopefully) for a house purchase, spread across a couple of current accounts earning around 5%.