Boiler died - does immersion work?

Options
How do I know if my immersion works? I've never used it before. It's buzzing and it's been on a half hour but the water coming out the taps isn't hot, just not freezing. 
How long does it normally take to heat a 170ltr tank? 

I can live with the boiler being dead, as long as we have hot water still 🤞

Comments

• JGB1955
    JGB1955 Posts: 3,525 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    1 minute per litre, so just under 3 hours.
    #2 Saving for Christmas 2024 - £1 a day challenge. £325 of £366
  • housebuyer143
    housebuyer143 Posts: 3,457 Forumite
    Options
    JGB1955 said:
    1 minute per litre, so just under 3 hours.
    Thanks. That's a long time! 
    I'll check back in a few hours with hopefully good news 🙏🙏
  • FreeBear
    FreeBear Posts: 14,874 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Photogenic
    Options
    housebuyer143 said: I can live with the boiler being dead, as long as we have hot water still 🤞
    With the weather warming up, you are not under so much pressure to get the boiler fixed. So you can avoid emergency call out fees, and shop around if it is beyond economical repair.
    If you go for a new boiler, worth fitting larger radiators based on a flow temperature of 50-60°C (or lower). This would push the boiler further in to condensing mode and return slightly higher efficiency. Although, if the boiler does need replacing, have a look at heat pumps - Octopus quoted me £2700 (subject to survey) which isn't much more than a gas boiler would cost.

Her courage will change the world.

Treasure the moments that you have. Savour them for as long as you can for they will never come back again.
  • housebuyer143
    Options
    It appears to be working! I'm just going to leave it on permanently because it's not realistic to wait 3 hours for a tank of water to heat. Dread to see my electric bill.