Pension Illustration Error?

Options
Hi pensions experts,

I have a Defined Benefits pension - I won't say at this stage who the employer or the who the Pension administrator is. Upon retirement I have been planning on taking the 25% tax free lump sum and reduced annual pension.

The pension administrators system has an illustrator that provides an estimate based on the retirement date that you enter, I have been using this for several years and (based on a 1st Dec 2024 retirement date) the illustration has only ever varied very slightly, usually up or down by just a few hundred quid.

As I am now just a few months away from retirement I asked for a formal written illustration based on the 01/12/24 retirement date and this arrived in the post this week, I was shocked to see that both the tax fee lump sum and the reduced pension amounts are around 25% lower than all previous (and current) online illustrations.

I know, of course, that the online illustration is just an estimate and that the value of your pension can go up or down based on fund performance etc. etc. however, as I say above, the estimate has changed very little over the last few years so I am quite stunned by the variance.

I have raised this with the pension administrator and they are currently carrying out an investigation and have advised this will take around 10 days. Whilst I was on the phone they ran the same illustration and got the same estimate as me so they could not explain why the formal written illustration is so much lower.

Here's where I get worried...

The pension administrator has now removed my access to the online illustrator so I suspect the result of the investigation will be that there was a "bug" in the illustrator and it has been giving false estimates for years. I did take screenshots of the last online illustration before they took it down as evidence.