GCSE English - Tips?

Options
Hey guys, 

My nephew is due to sit his GCSEs in around 5 weeks or so. On the whole he's expected to broadly pass most subjects with 5-7 grades. However, English, both language and literature, he's on course for a 3. Less than ideal!

I'm trying to find out what I can do to help him out. I'm no expert myself, but managed B in both English language and lit, but this was a long time ago, 98-99, something like that! I am university educated, at a decent uni, again a long time ago! 

I'm quite surprised his school don't seem to be doing much on past papers, or so he says. 

I'm guessing it's far too late to evolve a tutor? I'm just trying to think what I can do to get him over the line and getting a pass. 

I was thinking I needed to find his exam board, find last papers with marking schemes and sort of coach him to make sure he satisfies it and had this at the front of his mind? Sadly I didn't study anything he's doing for literature, oh and it seems you can't take the Anthology in with you anymore! Harsh! 

Any help much appreciated! 

Comments

• Devongardener
    Devongardener Posts: 421 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    I’d say his parents should talk to his English teacher.  There will be previous papers available, and the teacher will tell them where any weaknesses are and how to work on them.
  • ChilliBob
    ChilliBob Posts: 2,090 Forumite
    Options
    I'm not too sure if his Mum has tried that or not, I'll ask - English isn't her first language and she's probably not too confident talking to teachers about this :/ 
  • Savvy_Sue
    Savvy_Sue Posts: 46,093 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options