Joint-Borrower-Sole-Proprietor Mortgage

Options
My son's landlord is intending to sell the property and he would like to buy it. My son is single and self employed. I'm wondering if we would be eligible for a Joint-Borrower-Sole-Proprietor Mortgage.

My own earnings are enough to obtain a mortgage myself, but I would prefer not to be on the title deeds for capital gains purposes.

My son has enough savings to pay the deposit. However, his earnings at the moment are low. 

Does it matter what the sole proprietors earnings currently are if the other borrower can cover the mortgage repayments themselves if need be?

Thank you for your help.

Comments

• kingstreet
    kingstreet Posts: 38,770 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options
    As long as both incomes are sufficient to run both households, affordability can usually be met.
    I am a mortgage broker. You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Adviser, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice. Please do not send PMs asking for one-to-one-advice, or representation.
  • silvercar
    silvercar Posts: 46,971 Ambassador
    Academoney Grad Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary
    Options