Should I move the paltry amount I have in a LGPS pot, or leave as-is?

Options
Hi folks!  MSEforum newbie here.  Hoping for a bit of friendly advice, please!

Approx. 12 months ago I started a job that paid pension contributions into a LGPS pot.  My hours were few, and contributions small.  There's around the £630 mark in there to-date.  Paltry, like I say.

I'm leaving the role for a new job, where I'll be re-enrolled back into the NEST scheme. 

My first thought was to transfer the small LGPS amount into the existing NEST pot and have done with it.  £630 is peanuts in the grand scheme of things.  But then I thought, would it be better to leave it where it is, despite how small the figure?  I'm quite some way from retirement, yet.  What would you guys do?  Any advice would be much appreciated

Comments

• Marcon
    Marcon Posts: 10,696 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    Options

Approx. 12 months ago I started a job that paid pension contributions into a LGPS pot.  My hours were few, and contributions small.  There's around the £630 mark in there to-date.  Paltry, like I say.

I'm leaving the role for a new job, where I'll be re-enrolled back into the NEST scheme. 

My first thought was to transfer the small LGPS amount into the existing NEST pot and have done with it.  £630 is peanuts in the grand scheme of things.  But then I thought, would it be better to leave it where it is, despite how small the figure?  I'm quite some way from retirement, yet.  What would you guys do?  Any advice would be much appreciated
    Are you sure you've got the option to leave it where it is? With under two years of scheme membership,  you normally have an option to take a refund of your own (not any employer) contributions minus tax; or a transfer (which does include 'something from the employer') to a new pension arrangement.