getting a loan against a fixed deposit ( 1 year fixed savings bond)

Options
freakykid
freakykid Posts: 1 Newbie
hello there, i'm a newbie so i hope i'm doing this right!

ok so i have some funds tied up until october in a 1 year bond from barclays.

i'm currently not working or claiming benefits so i can't get any kind of loan, and barclays won't extend my overdraft even though they have a five figure sum of mine under their control, which to me is absolutely crazy!

"computer says no!" based on their "system". i foolishly thought that as banks are such money grabbers that they would have something in place to cater for people like me but i guess that there aren't that many of us about.

so how can i borrow money against this deposit?, is it possible at all out there in the world of finance? (legit finance that is!)

i'm talking about less than 20% of the amount that will be freed up in 7 months time.

thanks in advance for any feedback, if anyone can post links to potential lenders that would be wonderful, have a nice day all :)

Comments

• Caz3121
    Caz3121 Posts: 15,546 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Have you spoken to Barclays re accessing funds?
    their site says "If your circumstances have changed significantly, perhaps due to illness, a relationship ending or financial difficulties, you might be able to access money in a savings account that doesn’t normally allow withdrawals."
    https://www.barclays.co.uk/savings/bonds/1-year-fixed-rate-savings-bond/#ref4
  • BoGoF
    BoGoF Posts: 7,099 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    You have zero income so why tie up your capital for 12 months? Nobody is going to lend to you and there is nothing 'crazy' about Barclays approach.

• Grumpy_chap
    Grumpy_chap Posts: 14,902 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    Options
    freakykid said:
    hello there, i'm a newbie so i hope i'm doing this right!