Self employed salary! Confused on payments!

Options
Hi all,

Hope you are all good.
I’m new to self employment this year and haven’t earns a huge amount and it’s been very straight forward if I have earnt this and paid out this in expenses.

I spoke to an accountant and since my turnover was fairly small I could actually submit my returns myself on a cash basis to save some money as it was simply and next year actually have an account as there will be lots of other things to take into consideration then.

I don’t want to keep asking him questions and have tried to Google but just wanted to see if anyone has any answers as don’t want to get caught by the tax man. 

So i am okay submitting the return, my books are all done apart from next month and ready to submit so have no issues with that.

My issue is salary! I have been told my salary can be my profits. So if my profits were £20k then that is my salary. Is this true? Would I just pay tax and NI on that £20k? 

If I was applying for anything, and my profit would as £20k would I put that my income is £20k?

Do I have to pay any other tax and NI on that £20k if it was my salary. So should I be paying tax and NI like as if I was employed and then tax again on my profit?

I am aware I can take a drawing as well. Just say I took £2k each month. Would I pay tax and NI on that I would I still just pay tax and NI at the end of the year and include that £2k per month into my profit?

apologies for all the questions. I have been told basically that whatever I earn as profit is mine and as long as I pay tax and NI on the profit then it’s fine and that is my salary. It just seems strange that the tax and NI I would pay on the profit is significantly lower than what I would pay if I was employed.

I just don’t want to have £20k profit, pay tax and NI on that profit and say that is my salary and have HMRC chasing me for unpaid tax from employment.

I really hope that made sense and haven’t made you all want a stiff drink