Looking for a little help on what I should do with an inheritance Please

Options
Hi All,

I am quite new to this so thought I might ask you guys for a little guidance please /

A little background,
I have been on ESA and receive PIP for health problems. The majority of this will now cease as I am about to receive an inheritance and I have no problem with that at all but now have to figure out how to proceed.

My pension age comes about in august 2029 so I have to make the numbers work until then.

The figure I have is £110k (I need to look after 60k of that as it earmarked for my son)

Given that interest rates appear to be increasing for all savings at the moment how is this best distributed to give max potential. I am looking at a 12k allowance to live year to year all things considered on my end.

Any help greatly appreciated

Comments

• slacko2
    slacko2 Posts: 28 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    Apologies I should of said.  I can use the £60k but can not spend it

sorry
  • eskbanker
    eskbanker Posts: 31,076 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options
    slacko2 said:
    The figure I have is £110k (I need to look after 60k of that as it earmarked for my son)

Given that interest rates appear to be increasing for all savings at the moment how is this best distributed to give max potential. I am looking at a 12k allowance to live year to year all things considered on my end.
    Interest rates are generally considered to have peaked, but are you effectively saying that you wish to give away £60K out of your £110K inheritance and then to live off the remaining £50K at £12K per year for five years until your state pension kicks in?

Are you choosing to pass the majority to your son, and when would that happen?