BBL from Lloyds now in the hands of Moorcroft

Options
Mivvi-69
Mivvi-69 Posts: 9 Forumite
First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
Hi. I'm a newbie here so please be gentle! My son took out a BBL with Lloyds. Before it was due to be repaid Lloyds closed his account  and transferred the administration of the loan to Moorcroft. Lloyds have refused to say why they did that and we can't get any sense out of Moorcroft either. My son complained to the ombudsman and was told Loyds have done nothing wrong and they are at liberty to close accounts as they see fit and transfer debts (which it wasn't at the time) as they wish. This is not on his credit file and we cannot find out who owns the debt, however he is paying an amount agreed with Moorcroft, he has never missed any payments and still receiving statements from Lloyds bank for the account. Now he is applying for a mortgage and the lender wants to know why this is a debt and why Lloyds closed the account and handed it to Moorcroft. Help! has anyone else been in this situation, has any advice for us, we feel stuck in a never ending hamster wheel which isnt of our own making, thanks.

Comments

• retiredbanker1
    retiredbanker1 Posts: 339 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    SAR them (although any details about wrong doing on the part of your son will be redacted).
    Are you saying that Lloyds closed all of his accounts not just this loan?

What grounds did he apply for the BBL? What were the funds used for?
  • sourcrates
    sourcrates Posts: 28,888 Ambassador
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    Options
    Sometimes Banks make commercial decisions to pass management of a debt to a collector, they can do this at their discretion and do not need to provide a reason why.

The debt will still be owned by Lloyds, Moorcroft will have been assigned it to manage.

If the debt had been sold you would have been informed in writing beforehand.