GHIC usage advice

Options
Hi, I'm posting this on behalf of my mum. Any advice from anyone who's had any experience with using their GHIC card, or knows anything about doing so, would be appreciated:

I am a UK resident who goes often to Paris, France.  If I unexpectedly get taken to a hospital for some medical issue & have to receive inpatient treatment, how do I get them to recognise the GHIC card & be sure they'll only bill me for the 25% of the bill that UK citizens are required to pay?

Paying the entire bill may be too expensive & claiming from the DHSS on return to the UK can take a very long time I've heard (even a year or longer) so leaving someone severely out of pocket in the meantime.

Has anyone had any experience of being admitted to a Parisian hospital for treatment & not been automatically billed for the entire amount?  Any info on this issue would be greatly appreciated. Thank you 

Comments

• Bicycleman22
    Bicycleman22 Posts: 94 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    With a lot of travel insurance these days you are required to use EHIC when you can anyway.....Yes, you may well be asked to pay and get the money back later.
  • Archergirl
    Archergirl Posts: 1,767 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Are you expecting to have to go to hospital, do you have an existing illness? It may make a difference.
    If you are in an accident you might not be able to say 'Take me to a public hospital'
  • rigolith
    rigolith Posts: 2,615 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    Didn't it used to cover 100% of the cost with the old EU card?
  • Pollycat
    Pollycat Posts: 34,713 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Savvy Shopper!
    edited 15 March at 2:33PM
    Options
    rigolith said:
    Didn't it used to cover 100% of the cost with the old EU card?
    I thought it gave the same rights as residents of the country you were travelling in.