Going interest only

Options
This is for my Daughter,  her partner has unilaterally decided he wants out of family life.  They only bought their house 3 years ago.  
The house will have to be sold,  neither can afford the mortgage alone ( which would need increasing to buy the other’s equity)  as it’s £1300 a month without an extra £40-50k on top. 

I’d say £90-100k of equity of which she wants 66% as she put up 2/3 of the deposit. 

Will Nationwide allow them to go interest only until the house is sold?
It should sell easily,  it’s close to a great primary school. 

I would think it’s a better option than a payment break as that will just eat into the equity ? 

Comments

• amnblog
    amnblog Posts: 12,445 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options
    The Mortgage Charter following the 2022 rate increases currently allows 6 months Interest Only without harm to the credit file (which is key)
    I am a Mortgage Broker

You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Broker, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice.
  • Keep_pedalling
    Keep_pedalling Posts: 16,645 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Photogenic
    Options
    Did they make deed of trust to reflect the uneven amount they put into the purchase? 
  • Flugelhorn
    Flugelhorn Posts: 5,595 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Did they make deed of trust to reflect the uneven amount they put into the purchase? 
    I hope they did otherwise presume it will be 50:50 
  • Ruggers13
    Ruggers13 Posts: 7 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options